I'll bet you ten dollars
26 March 2004 at 12:11 am

I always thought my dreams would come true in San Francisco, and now, they have.

I now am in possession of four episodes of Salute Your Shorts.

Life is complete.

Capture the Flag is the best game ever, Donkeylips. Oh, yes it is.

This morning, I asked Aaron, who has not read a book since I've known him, to pick me out something to read while I was at work. He brought me Fahrenheit 451, and I've just finished it. The kids in my AP class had to read it sophomore year, when I was at boarding school, and talked all sorts of shit about it (AP kills everything it touches), so I never had a desire to read it, but Aaron loved it (he went to the alt school for fuckups, and it did him some good), so I thought I'd give it a whirl. It sucks the AP kids didn't get a chance to enjoy it, because it really is a great book.

Isn't it strange how with WWII, war was, like, the best thing ever? And now, at least with my generation, it almost seems anti-American to be patriotic, in terms of supporting the government.

A man just snuck into the store, all nervous like, and asked me shyly if I knew where he could go to sign up to become a member of the gym. I almost started crying -- he was so earnest and seemed like the kind of person who could be easily pushed around by an impatient society. I wanted to give him a hug, but refrained. It's situations such as these, when my emotions threaten to overwhelm my good judgement, when I have to assume the worst about whatever's making me feel so much; I'm assuming he crashed his computer with too much pr0n, which makes it a little easier to deal with.

Then a guy came in and I asked how he was and he said, "Goooood," like he'd just jerked off in the steam room. I don't have to assume anything about him.

THEN, my rep from the staffing agency called to let me know I have an interview tomorrow for a receptionist job with a PR firm. I'd be on salary: 28-30K. When it comes to my employment, I tend to build up a puppy-like loyalty to the signer of my paychecks, so I'd feel pretty shitty about quitting, especially since the only other employee just quit without giving notice. My manager would have to understand; he complains about his lack of money more thatn I do. Plus, he's been breaking rules he made me swear I wouldn't break, like pretending to be me in the computer when ringing up his own purchases, and that really pisses me off. Plus plus, he'll take for eons about his life during the shift change, and then I'll mention something, like my old college roommate coming to visit, and he'll immediately change the subject, uh, so he can talk again.

I would feel super grown-up if somebody asked me what I did and I said, "I work for a PR firm."

THEN, the guy at the salon adjacent to my shop who blew out my hair for free offered to give me a free haircut, so I'll be getting that done next week.

And THEN, Salute Your Shorts galore!

Today was officially a great day.

(Pinsky is in Rilo Kiley. wtf?)

one year ago today: "at peace with the world, despite a world not at peace"

two years ago today: "but...i am home...but...i'm not..." and "and also" and "have you ever felt an implant?" and "brilliant!"

three years ago today: "'They can have their diamonds And we'll have our pearls'"

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.