I'm only happy when it rains
25 September 2003 at 4:20 pm

$330.00 for the U-Haul, including towing dolly thingy for my poor, decrepit car.

$153.30 for plane tickets on Columbus Day weekend to look for housing.

$25.00 for credit report (yes, I know I paid too much) so potential landlords don't have to order it.

And it's going to be around $2500 just to move into the fabulous apartment-to-be. I am immensely grateful for my parents, who support my every whim.

And I'm so excited I could spit. I turned in my month-and-a-half notice (my manager told me to, and then laughed at me when I did...weirdo) and have started gathering phone numbers of pet-friendly buildings in San Francisco to check out when I head down there next month for my mum's and my bi-annual shopping/manic-apartment-hunting extravaganza. I'm slightly apprehensive about talking landlords into letting me keep a pit bull/rottweiler/shar-pei mix in the house, but I have negotiation in my blood. Plus, we have the all-powerful Landlord References. I'm sure we'll manage.

I think it's ridiculous that you have to have a pet resume, but you have to work with and understand The System before you can Damn the Man.

Wait...what?

I'm also slightly anxious about finding a job -- you know, that money thing, but that's what temp work's for!

I'm not at all nervous about Aaron and I having our own place, because we've been literally living together for five months and practically living together since we met eleven months ago and we are still ridiculously happy and embarassingly cute together. Not, like, cute cute. Like, cutesy cute. Like, the things I spat at people for a year ago. The hugging and the cuddling and the kissing in public...all that PDA inhibition has been thrown into the rubbish bin, along with the relationship insecurities I've been harboring for oh-so-long, in addition to all that advice I've kept in the back of my head [i.e., why buy the cow when you can get the milk for free (antiquated dictum), don't ever live with a potential husband because it destroys the magic of marriage (Mum's sage advice), and of course: don't give a cheatin' man a second chance (addendum: unless he makes significant sacrifices to prove his worthiness)].

I have everything I want and more than everything I need and at this precise moment, I am Content and Satisfied.

Incidentally, I am also so bored I'm picking at my belly button and I think it's starting to scab. Forty more minutes.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.