Help
07 October 2008 at 1:09 pm

I'm a 24 year old cliche: aimless, worthless, my entire persona a reflection of the life that surrounds me.

I'm one of three people: professional (and boring--see banker me), destructive (and fun--see college sophomore me, see now me), and then there's that in between me, the one who holds it all together, the one who's too busy getting things done to worry about "feelings" or "emotional trauma" (see pre-divorce me, see receptionist/full-time student/server me, see full-time student/office manager/bartender me). I'm ready for that one to come back (why do you think I applied for law school?).

I'm done with this indulgent lifestyle. I want to start accomplishing things again. What can I do, to get back to that responsible person, that doesn't involve going back to school?

I'm sick of catering to my every whim, my every flight of fancy. There's no satisfaction in this lifestyle if it's not earned. I don't take pleasure in hedonism; instead, I feel guilty, like I'm getting away with something I don't deserve. That's my fundamental problem anyway, what I feel like I deserve (see: profile title). But I can't fix that, so I'll fix the rest of my life.

Anyway, if anyone's hiring, I'm an office magician and I don't care where that job is. Just thought I'd throw it out there.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.