'in the world according to garp, we are all terminal cases.'//
06 May 2002 at 12:13 pm

i think i've updated, like, 3 times since i've woken up, but you know what? fuck you, clown.

my therapist called me this morning to tell me she was sick. i'm sick too. so it's good that she cancelled our appt. except it sucks that i have to go to work in ventura and i have no idea what the protocal is for working at a different store. i tried getting ahold of christina, who i thought might need a ride, but to no avail. so i will drink this here red bull, smoke that there cigarette, and read until i find the energy to go to work and ask what the hell i'm supposed to do.

i love this girl and if i do not visit her this summer in florida, i will be sorely disappointed.

did i mention i went movie crazy this weekend at amoeba? i gots me some woody allen, audrey hepburn, and marilyn to keep me entertained.

and sanam lent me her copy of /the world according to garp./ travis made me watch the movie back in the day when he was talking to me and it was craziness. i've heard the book is even weirder. a summary, shamelessly stolen from the back of the book:

//this isthe life of t.s. garp, the bastard son of jenny fields - a feminist leader ahead of her time. this is the life and death of a famous mother and her almost-famous son; theirs is a world of sexual extremes - even of sexual assassinations. it is a novel rich with 'lunacy and sorrow'; yet the dark, violent events of the story do not undermine a comedy both ribald adn robust. in more than thirty languages, in more than forty countries - with more than ten million copies in print - this novel provides almost ceerful, even hilarious evidence of its famous last line: 'in the world according to garp, we are all terminal cases.'//

who writes the synopsis of books anyway?

i am sick sore. yuck.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.