Hanuman
07 June 2011 at 5:09 pm

I made it into hanumanasana on both sides for the first time yesterday. I never in my life have been able to do the splits with one leg in front of me and one leg behind. Wide angle splits, easy peasy, even in my worst shape. When I was a cheerleader, my secret shame was my inability to press my vag onto the floor.

I've dreamed about it, since I was very young, just coming into the splits. Even in my dreams, it's an accomplishment: "Oh, I can do this now!"

I used to think it was crazy to dream yoga poses, but it's not.

It was a hard class, and I was feeling the effort, really fighting it, until about halfway through. After Deb brought us into hanumanasana, a small smile played on my lips, and I floated through the rest of class, effortless, mindless, delightful.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.