Longing to linger till dawn
22 September 2010 at 1:33 pm

We were standing, buried waist deep at the edge of the ocean, and I asked, "Are you sure you want to do this?" Let the tide bury us? Are you sure?

He collapsed, and I wiggled myself loose and dragged him up the beach, brushed the wet sand from his mouth. He was shivering, so I wrapped myself around him, wrapped towels around both of us.

I knew in the dream that I was only ever there to dig him out, get him warm enough to survive, and then I would have to go.
___

The new boyfriend woke me up, slowly, over the course of an hour, whispering, "I love you," into my ear, spooning, stroking my hair while I fell back into the dream.

Finally, he said the magic words: "It's time to get up," and I pushed myself up with a start and took a minute to remember where I was.

"Hi," were my first words this morning, to my new love, my old lover fading as quickly as the green dot on the horizon at sunset. "Hello," I said, falling back into the mattress. "I love you, too."

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.