"It takes a lot of woman, girl, to satisfy my soul"
26 May 2010 at 8:14 pm

We're discussing the grandfather clock when I ask what time it is.

This strikes the bar boss as odd, as we're standing in front of a functioning clock, keeping time perfectly purely by weight.

I see the arrows. I see them point. I see them move. They mean nothing to me.

"It's not time," I try to explain. "It's a symbol of time." I can't decide if my brain experiences life too literally or too symbolically to interpret the meaning instantly.

Don't ask me how I can bullshit a thesis on the displaced patriotism within Vonnegut's nihilist motif but can't read an analog clock.

___

In other news, how timely!; I can't stop listening to Sam Cooke, and holy shit we're in the middle of a fucking lightning storm! To the beach!!!

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.