Work
07 April 2010 at 4:54 pm

Well. Today was not good.

I don't like feeling incompetent, even when it's not my fault.

I am attempting to do the work of two people in half the time, and every few minutes I get an email or a phone call from people telling me everything I didn't know I was supposed to be doing. And I have to tell them no, no, even though she could, I cannot possibly do anything that you are asking of me.

I called the girl who used to have my job, who is officially on a leave of absence, who dropped two bombs:

She thinks she will be moving back in with the boy who hit her.

She thinks she will come back and take over the position in a few weeks as she intended to: working out of the socal office.

Concerns:

People don't change.

I don't know where that leaves me. I will still have a job for sure, but I negotiated a better salary than she was making. I'm not sure how the boss is going to feel about me making more than she is (which she doesn't know). And there is no way I would do this job, even with her taking back some of her many responsibilities for anything less.

But none of this will go down until Monday. In the meantime, I have a mountain of work, which, even if I knew how to do it, I don't actually have time to complete.

So I spent the morning at the new job sitting on a volcano of tears (which erupted as soon as I got into my car) and the afternoon at my lovely, wonderful, no-stress fin shop looking up grad schools instead.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.