Everything is Fine
31 March 2010 at 4:37 pm

When I am very anxious and stressy, I reread my daily planner in reverse chronological order. I make notes about things along the way, things I remember about that day, always including at least one good thing about every day. Sometimes it's that I spent an entire day in bed reading (it's better to remember that than how sick I was at the time). Sometimes a recipe turns out well. Sometimes it's a compliment. Sometimes it's a show or a restaurant or a bit of eye contact. Just one thing, every day, and I reread these things, and they make me less upset, and I remember the blanket: everything is the same. Stress and massages are the same. Money and anger are the same. It's all the same energy, nothing more, nothing less. Nothing's changed. Everything is the same. Everything is fine.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.