Wherein the grass, it is greener
01 September 2009 at 4:07 pm

I kind of miss not having friends. I was so much more productive.

__

"How are you?" Pav asks innocuously, a few months ago.

"I'm GREAT!" I say with a huge smile.

He cowers from my enthusiasm and says, "I don't even think you're being ironic."

___

"Would you like another margarita?" Pav asks innocously, a few days ago.

"Yes, I think so. I have been depriving myself recently."

It's funny! Because it's not true at all! I've been living like a hedonist, giving into every last invitation, partaking of every ice cream cone that comes my way, and attaining mild hangovers nearly twice a month! Who will stop me!

He doesn't get it and asks why, which I loathe. If I wanted to say anything more, I would have said it. I'm not a conversationalist.

So I speak the opposite of what I mean. Some people call this "dry humor," but it's the only way I know how to communicate, unless I'm being really genuine and I haven't figured out how to do that on command yet. Actually, that's not true, I was genuine and sincere for a long, long time, but I was awfully lonely, so I gave up and turned into a mimic instead.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.