New Classics
08 April 2009 at 3:17 pm


I received a loser call on St. Patrick's Day, while I slept in a deliciously rumpled hotel bed in DC.

The loser call is a tradition that goes back many years, though its origins are unknown (to me, because I haven't asked). Whenever a member of our little clique of Merc employees and regulars is missing from a party, the party calls the absentee and screams, �LOSER!� for as long as humanly possible before hanging up. Very traditionally, the call is placed to the person who is working while the rest of us are out having a blast. Heh.

St. Patrick�s Day brings another Merc tradition: the potluck breakfast. Ten to thirty people meet up at 6am and get wasted off Irish car bombs and eat semi-traditional Irish fare. Some people take the day off work to attend.

I�ve never attended it, having multiple jobs that require a certain level of sobriety, but I definitely appreciate the enthusiasm behind the loser call.

In other news, I've just booked tickets from CDG (that's Paris!) to Glasgow (that's Scotland!): �104.74=~$139. !

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.