To Sum It All Up
31 December 2008 at 4:22 pm

Good heavens, a lot happened this year!

My New Year's Resolution was to have an adventure every day, and I think I can safely say I accomplished that.

This was the one year I didn't really plan anything. There was no college degree to work on, I was out of debt by Februrary, I didn't actively search for a career. I really just wanted to have interesting things to write about.

I spent a week in Costa Rica, a long weekend in New York City, several weekends in San Francisco, two nights in Napa, a few days in Illinois, a night in Denver, one night in Redding (new personal record for least amount of time spent in my hometown for the year) and a few nights scattered throughout the year in Los Angeles.

I broke my foot, gained something ridiculous like 30 pounds, and did not smoke one cigarette (I quit August of last year after five years of a pack-a-day habit). My depression ebbed and flowed with how much I was reading and exercising.

I was awesomely popular, going out for drinks and dinners and brunches and house parties, just like a normal person (long-time readers will recall a time when I was not so socially inclined).

I stopped talking to my father.

I moved into my very first, very own apartment.

I went to the beach almost every day.

I annihilated all of my debt.

I started investing in the stock market.

I guest-blogged.

I stayed staunchly single, dating very rarely and very carefully. I had my first regrettable one night stand with the bartender, made out with a 26 year old manboy, a 38 year old Costa Rican, and a 27 year old manic depressive, and went out with a 24 year old philosophy grad student.

Oh yeah, and I just turned 25.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.