Needle in the Hay
26 December 2008 at 3:34 am

Let me tell you about:

driving up 154 singing along to the Marquee Moon, so pleased to be two hours late just so I could see the sunset from that height, turning left onto Kinevan Road and finding my way to the house hidden in the hills that I wasn't sure I could find at all, and the door opening before I have a chance to knock, and Griffin telling me I look beautiful.

Let me tell you about:

the power is out and my 24th Christmas dinner is being cooked on a fireplace in a cabin and I'll never actually eat it anyway and I haven't eaten anything all day.

Let me tell you about:

leaving to open the bar a half an hour late and hearing about the people who drove by in those thirty minutes who thought we wouldn't open at all and the people i served on christmas night, many of whom i served on christmas eve, and the $50 bet for who could score my phone number (no one did).

Let me tell you about:

closing the bar at 3:30am, in tears I'm so exhausted, thinking if I could have it any other way I wouldn't at all.

Let me tell you that:

no matter how bad things get, I'm alright (go back one).

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.