New Femininity
17 December 2008 at 3:11 pm

I had drinks with my bar boss on Saturday, before I was twenty minutes late for what I guess was a date ("I was presumptuous and bought the tickets already," he said). I ordered two more martinis for us when Dawn offered up this gem:

"She doesn't know how to be a pretty girl."

Like, she doesn't know how to handle the attention?

"Like, when Shawn would come into the bar and I would see her fawn over him."

Dawn once said to me, "Maybe I'm old-fashioned, but I think boys should pay for everything,."

Making room for Kristie at the table when she was fetching her own extra chair, Dawn announced to the group, "Shouldn't one of the boys be getting that for her?"

I don't know quite how I feel about all that -- I appreciate it when someone opens the door for me, when it's convenient, and I've learned to be okay with being treated to a movie, and I can get my own chair. It's nice when I don't have to, but I know I can if I need to.

I get it, that Kristie doesn't know how to be a pretty girl. She doesn't know how to play the game. She doesn't know to let them come to her. She gives of herself freely (emotionally, not sexually), and boys might appreciate this, but men sure don't.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.