7/8
29 October 2008 at 11:24 am

And now, eight years after a dead girl told me about her online diary, before they were blogs, there is documentation of who I am and why I am and how I am the exact same person I was when I was sixteen. Ok, so I have better stories. And, um, a slightly matured writing style.


I still travel a lot. In high school, I would drive to Sacramento or San Francisco or fly to Illinois to see my family or DC to visit with my boarding school friends. Now, I drive or fly to San Francisco at least once a month to see, in addition from people mentioned already, Geo, a former roommate who inspires me to fuck forever, or Victoria, a recently divorced mother who inspires me to prioritize around my dreams. I'll pop down to L.A. for a quick adventure with Lindsey, a girl I met online when I was 12. I traipsed around Costa Rica with my brother, even though I had a broken foot. I spent a long weekend in New York to be a teenager again with Joanna and Michelle. I drove as many hours as I spent in Napa for Katie's bachelorette party. I'm booking trips to Morocco, New York, and DC for next year.

Now that my foot is healed, I've started running again, for hours, to the beach and back.

I'm known in some circles for my baking.

I can't go anywhere without running into someone I know vaguely. I get recognized by people I've never seen before.

I'm one of a very few in my circle of friends who has no debt. I have substantial savings, a personal investment banker, and I have a Roth IRA invested in index funds and individual stocks I casually day trade.

I have three jobs that revolve around my passions for money, booze, and autonomy.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.