Small World; Smaller Town
20 October 2008 at 3:54 pm

Lindsey said, "Have you ever thought that you live in too small of a town?" This was after I got paid $600 for parking in a parking lot.

It didn't even occur to me that one might be able to go to the grocery store without having four different versions of the same conversation: "Oh hi how are you how was your weekend/what are your plans for the weekend I went to that show/I'm going to that show I heard about that/I heard about that it was nice to see you at the party the show the bar the dinner/I'll see you at the party the show the bar the dinner it was a lot of fun/it's going to be a lot of fun ok I'll see you later!"

It didn't even occur to me you could be picked up in a bar by some guy, only to have him be in a band with the DJ from your bar--you know, the one who casually hits on you every all the time.

It didn't even occur to me that you can make a fool of yourself laughing hysterically for three hours straight at a dinner at a vineyard (for work), only to be called out hours later at a venue an hour away. "Table 13!" they called. "Table 13!" we responded.

It didn't even occur to me that somebody might think it's a little strange that the person who backed into my car used to live in the studio I now inhabit. Because that's just what happened.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.