Notes on an Outfit
18 July 2008 at 2:27 pm

I've been accused of being unable to take a compliment, which is true, because I don't get complimented that often. One time, in the security area of an airport, a boy told me that I "have very clean socks." What do you say to that? That barely registers as proper conversation, but there's no natural response. "Thanks!"? "That's true"? "Oh"? I went with, "Yeah. I use bleach."

I get "interesting" a lot, too. "That's an interesting shirt." Is there an appropriate response to that? It might not be a compliment, after all. Hitler was interesting. A train wreck is interesting. Often times, there is a pause as the commenter attempts to come up with an adjective. "That's a ... interesting outfit you have there." One time, a checkout guy at the food co-op said, "That's a very ... green outfit." I was wearing a lot of green, and, of course, the hair. That's not a compliment; that's an observation. I responded, "Yes. Yes, that's true." Good job!

He didn't have to say anything at all, but more often than not, I dress like an attention whore. That's because I am an attention whore. I'd rather people be commenting on what I'm wearing on any level than not noticing me at all. That's why, sometimes, I will wear something a little bit costume, a little bit absurd, because I like to think I'm making a point. That point might be, "I need a lot of attention." I might be trying to say, "I'm a little bit insane today," but there's a message behind everything I put on. For example, sometimes I wear a shirt with a lot of rifles stenciled on it with my crystal luger necklace, just because I'm feeling a little bit like not taking anyone's shit and I don't want to have to say anything aloud to get that point across.

Conclusively, the fact that my body rejects tetracycline so strongly probably means I shouldn't be taking it.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.