Fear
02 June 2008 at 5:23 pm

I know that someday the loneliness will suffocate me, that it is poisoning me, growing like the tumor I had removed when I was 12, that it is a grenade set to annihilate my reason, that it will leave me having fallen into the emaciated arms of whoever else let their loneliness determine their degree of deserved love.

In the meantime, I take comfort in the romance of solitude. I could swim away into the ocean and look back only once and no one would be looking for me until I wash up in L.A. I could get on a plane and end up in Iceland for a month and my employers would just think I�m being flaky, my roommates would assume I�d been at work the whole time, my friends would realize three weeks in that I hadn�t called but not think to track me down until I was already back. That is freedom.

There are some people who experience life as though it is a community event. I view it as a much more solitary practice.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.