We Were All Basically Alone
24 May 2008 at 5:56 pm

Of the three bands that played last night, at least two people from each band expressed their adoration for my hair, and at least one developed a mild crush on me. I stayed up until 6am, Pav having passed out on the couch while I chatted about how I quit smoking with two semi-regulars, to catch my flight to San Francisco. Kristie was on the flight with me and we had been randomly sat next to each other, so I slept on her shoulder for the 45 minutes it takes to get to SFO.

Her ex-boyfriend picked us up this morning, and the delirium had set in quite steadily, with me finding it difficult to form a sentence that reflected the information I wanted to share. We met up with Esp, one of my soulmates, and had breakfast at 8am on Haight Street. Several miniature cups of coffee each and a few raucous laugh fits later, we went our separate ways, Kristie and her ex to San Jose, Esp and I to one of our Days.

It was only 10am and nothing opened until 11, so we went to Golden Gate Park and walked around the de Young, tried to sneak into the Tea Gardens, strutted through the amphitheatre, and spoke at length about my self-absorption, my seemingly incurable fear of intimacy, and the fact that maybe it's okay to be picky.

I told Pav I would look through Amoeba for some records he wanted, but could only find one, a Blur album. I also found an LP of Tokyo Police Club, which thrills me to no end. Their EP isn't fantastic, but the initial offering holds such promise that I still think they can evolve into the post-punk apocolypticos I know they can be (ref: Citizens of Tomorrow). We wandered down Haight, popping into shops, buying a leopard print belt here, a perfect red coat there, but unable to find a Function Alternative Energy anywhere. I started fading fast, so we headed towards my brothers to drop my things off and then to find some sushi.

It only took us an hour from arriving at my brother's lower Nob Hill (aka the Tenderloin) apartment to actually leaving, which is pretty efficient for us. My broken foot was not hugely thrilled about the hike from Mason to Polk Street, but the sushi was worth the few extra days my foot will need to heal.

Geo called while I was getting Cocoa Puffs and unsweetened soy milk from the bodega downstairs. When I asked what her plans were, she said the whole evening is reserved for me. We're going to meet at Harris', my brother's work, for some ridiculously decent whiskey before having one of our Nights. Eventually, we will end up at the Edinburgh Castle, where--funny story, the last time I was there I smoked a joint with the manager of Two Gallants and my now ex-boyfriend's mother--a northern soul night is going on and where my dear DJ Victoria is going to be dancing her newly single heart out. Have I mentioned? I love this life.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.