Pain and Limping in Los Gatos
07 May 2008 at 4:24 pm

I guess I should follow that up, huh?

I went four hours north to San Jose last weekend with a coworker and her friend. They had a going away party to go to, and I've been meaning to get out of town. There was a lot of laughing, some decent music, a good chunk of really bad music, and then a party. It was a party, as parties tend to be, until we went to go find a place to sleep, were accused of stealing a dog, and found two guys on the street who let us sleep on their couch for a ride home. What idiots we are.

I had changed my shoes three times that day, from flip flops to my yellow peep-toe pumps to my yellow peep-toe wedges. If you ask me why, I could not possibly give you a reasonable answer. I was wearing the wedges when I fell down, walking away from the House of Lunacy, and holy hell, the majesty of biting it that hard, at that point in time, is magnificent. I had a stress fracture in my foot from running too much in shitty shoes last year, so the foot sprain is a lot worse than it should have been.

At the house where the guys were letting us sleep, they put on Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, which, you guys, I've been to a minimal amount of keggers (oh yeah, it was a kegger, BECAUSE I'M 15), and each of them had somehow involved the watching of that movie. That it was on a 3am on HBO, that I ended up in the house that was playing it, and that I was as fucked up as I was, makes me question the cyclical reality I seem to be involved in.

The drive back was kind of nice, with the girls stopping every hour to replace the ice for my foot, lots of altered realities, and I spent the entire fucking day writing. It was amazing, being doted upon by two new friends, and having nothing but hours to scribble my thoughts haphazardly. The hopping was kind of funny for, like, fourteen minutes. Wait, no, it was hilarious the whole day. I felt like I'd been dared to spend the whole day hopping, except I didn't have a choice.

Anyway, Katie, I can't blame you anymore for that horrible weekend in Los Gatos; seems that place and I were never meant to get along.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.