Unlocked
27 March 2008 at 8:13 pm

How does people knowing about it change the fact that it happened?

Life, man. Even in the most extreme of circumstances. It's not so hard. It's not so bad.

So what else is there, when there is no challenge for basic survival?

And then that is when you get a little bit existential and a lot cynical. When life is simple and everything makes sense. Even when you try to make it difficult. Even when you consciously challenge yourself, and it's just like...that was easy.

There's no excuse not to smile at everyone. You have no excuse not to stand naked on a fire escape in Soho; you have no excuse not to sing "New York, New York" in a mink coat dancing the can can in the middle of New York, New York; you have no excuse to avoid impulses.

But I never did anyway. A lot of people need the anonymity a place like New York provides; me? I will doubt myself whether I am recognized on the street several hours later or not.

I have nothing to lose. I never did. Neither did you.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.