It goes without saying
12 February 2008 at 5:40 pm

It's a long way to rock bottom. And I'm not even anywhere close.

I drink too much. I smoke too much pot. I can't remember that last time I was sober.

I do this to myself because

I have nothing better to do.

I have a deep-seeded self-loathing that lurks in the shadows of my conscious self only when I surround myself with people who are worse off than I am.

I'm depressed.

I thought that I could be enough for myself. But I can't.

I wish I could take advantage of this mindstate like I used to, by doing whatever the hell I wanted and not suffering the consequences because I'm smart enough to either not get caught or not care what people think of me, but right now, I care what people think of me. A lot. And for no good reason. And I don't know how to stop, except to hide out in my room and contemplate my split ends while Arrested Development plays in a loop all night long.

"Actually," my brother said when I told him what I've been doing with my evenings, "that sounds kind of awesome."

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.