The End of the Beginning, Part Eight
03 September 2007 at 11:42 am

Knowing he wouldn't write me back for two days, I suffered. I cringed. I had already made the decision to break up with Aaron, knowing that if I could feel this strongly about somebody, something that has never been in issue in the five years Aaron and I were together, I owed it to myself to explore my other options before settling down ...um, moreso, officially, with a ring, with Aaron. Honestly, that has been the most shocking part about all of this, not that I found somebody else to sweep me off my feet, but that I had relegated myself so stubbornly to a life with Aaron that it didn't even occur to me to look at men the same way. I spoke with my mom, my stepdad, my friends, the ones I'd had since I was ten years old, the ones I'd just met, the ones who know me better than anyone, the ones who don't know me at all, and they all agreed with me. I still don't know if that's because I was making the right decision or if it's because I'm talented when it comes to defending my choices.

And so, I waited. I panicked. I drank. I smoked. I cringed. I rolled my eyes at myself. And I was constantly reloading my gmail even though it reloads itself regularly. In short, I obsessed, as someone suffering from Crazy Girl Syndrome is wont to do.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.