She has bad pipes
03 June 2007 at 11:33 pm

Excitement of the day: a pipe burst in my house.

My doorbell rang and the neighbor kid was standing outside biting his nails. I had been soaking my feet for an at-home pedicure, so I open the door with my feet all soapy and my pants rolled up. I mean, really, how ridiculous. He asks me if my house is leaking. I'm not sure if this is some practical joke, so I said that I wasn't sure and asked if he could show me. He takes me around to the back of the house and sure enough, my house is leaking in a place it should not be leaking. As a general rule of thumb, I don't believe houses should ever leak, but what do I know? I go to the backyard and it turns out that it is, in fact, my shed that is leaking. Why are there pipes in my shed? The world may never know. I asked him if he could get his dad, who's totally a Mr. Fix-it guy, and he comes over, calls his friend, and in ten minutes it's fixed.

The good news: I learned how to shut off my water, should this ever happen again.

Lesson learned: stay on good terms with neighbors at all costs.

The bad news: wtf is a pipe doing bursting in MY house? All the pipes are going to get a stern talking to and they are definitely grounded for the time being.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.