What did you know, what did I say?
10 May 2007 at 12:51 pm

Behold, the most useless of household appliances: the automatic can opener.

What a weird day today was. I had a dentist appointment at 9:50am (kind of an odd time, but whatevs), got there, gave them my new insurance, and an hour later (while sitting in the waiting room trying to work it out) found out that I don't have dental insurance. Whoops! Looks like I'll have to find another way to finance the $500 for my two cavities.

Since I still had an hour to kill before I had to be at work, I decided to run some errands, so I stopped by the glass place to order the new glass tabletop for the one I broke at the bar (there's a bit of a story behind that, but I'm moving on so let's just forget it). Then I went to the vet to register the dogs with the county. Someone had come to our house a few weeks ago threatening to fine us if we didn't do it, so our dogs are now legal in Santa Barbara county. By the time I got home and did some dishes...and bleached the sink...and scrubbed the bathtub...and gave Emma a bath...it was finally time to go to work, so I showed up and the other parttime bookkeeper asked me if I wanted a job. I was like, I've worked here for a year? But she told me that this other place she works at, two doors down, needs a parttime bookkeeper during the summer. I'll be getting the same pay as I do here (I got a raise by the way! Did I mention that? I showed up one day and my boss said, by the way, you got a raise...I was like, thanks?) and just work a few hours in the morning before heading two doors down to the other job. One month there and I'll be able to afford to fill in my holey teeth. Woo hoo!

It's so strange how things work out when I don't stress about them. I was completely ready to flip out this morning when I found out that my teeth aren't a concern of the powers that be, but knew it wasn't worth the effort (but you know what is worth the effort? Flossing). And then I come to work and am offered another perfect part-time job that'll give me an extra $500 a month. I mean, that's weird, right? Thanks, karma!

Last weekend was a lot of fun. D-'s girlfriend is in rehab to deal with her pill problem, so we (our little group consisting of E-, K-, D-, and myself) are doing our best to keep her distracted for the next month (D- has been known to go on destructive streaks herself). On Saturday, she came over and I made dinner (seared ahi! I'm a chef!) and we watched Pride & Prejudice and she fell asleep on the couch and I fell asleep on the floor. Aaron got home around midnight and had to put both of us to bed, waking D- up so he could put a sheet on the futon and giving her some of my PJs and stuff and set up the fan and closing all the blinds and tucking me in and all that...it was really cute. When I woke up Sunday, D- had been up for hours and had cleaned my kitchen, a disaster due to the snackfest the night before, and was all ready to go to the beach so we packed Damien up and headed out (Emma can't go to the beach because she eats all the sand and poos it out for three days). Damien had loads of fun, I didn't get a tan (a plus, I hate being tan and had put on three different types of sunscreen to prevent it), and we got back just when Aaron got off work and headed to D-'s palatial mansion to make dinner and hot tub in the hills of Santa Barbara. It was really an excellent evening.

This week's been kind of shit besides that. Aaron and I have been fighting a lot, just little tiffs here and there. I think it's the ridiculous heat and also the fact that we've lived in Santa Barbara for longer than we've lived anywhere else and we just aren't the type of people to be satisfied with settling down. I told Aaron I should become a diplomat so that we'll have to move every few years. The lingering thought in my head is that it's our relationship that's in a rut, but the truth is, I've always been this way. Since i was 12 and went to boarding school, I've moved at least every two years. I like life better that way. Aaron and I also talked more about getting engaged this year, which is exciting, especially since I've had a chance to clarify that I still want to wait several years before actually getting married. But that doesn't mean I don't want a ring in the meantime. Because I do. Rings are pretty.

To recap: bad teeth, new job (job numero 4!), good weekend, bad week, same ole relationship.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.