Ode to K-
01 April 2007 at 3:02 am

Allow me to say a few words about K-. K- is a friend I met because we work together, and we have become, in my opinion, very close. I seem to make one v. good friend in each city I live in. In Santa Barbara the first time, it was Sarah; in Seattle, it was Liz; in San Francisco, it was Sam; here, it is K-. I don't know why I'm anonymizing her, but it just seems appropriate since she doesn't read this and probably doesn't know I write this.

K- took my graduation photos the other day and did an amazing job. She's in school to become a photographer, and if my experience with her is anything to judge, she's incredibly talented. But the more important thing about K- is that when I refuse to talk, she makes me. Of our little group of friends that goes out every few weeks and gets tanked on tequila, she's the one who makes a point to ask about my relationship when everyone else is bitching about theirs. She pretty much gets me, and I get her. (Get it? You know who you are...)

She's pretty much the reason I decided to work to stay in Santa Barbara for longer. I'm sick of leaving very good friends behind, not that we don't keep in touch, but having to start all over with a new friend, with the life stories and the humiliation that come with sharing them.

We made plans to take up bikeriding together, because we're both antisocial and lacking in hobbies, and this is the thing I am most looking forward to in the coming months, not because I like being outdoors or enjoy exercise, but just bonding with someone over a common goal: getting out there, doing "normal" things like having a hobby besides my dogs and my boyfriend and my jobs, talking with a girl who is not going to judge what I have to say but isn't afraid to argue with me.

Anyway. I've been working since 9am and it is now 3am, so...sleep.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.