Money!
13 February 2007 at 5:15 pm

My boss (well, one of them) is getting ready to move back into his remodeled house, so he needs me to take over more responsibility over the next several weeks. It's mostly stuff I do anyway -- returning phone calls and emails, packing boxes -- but there will just be more of it, and I really don't mind because it's not that much effort and I get paid too well for my job here anyway. But then he said he was going to give me an $8.00/hour raise (to $22.00) for the days that he's out of the office that I cover for him, and holy shit. I love my jobs.

And even though a good portion of the employees at L3v1s are getting laid off (leftover seasonal workers who need to be cut because it's superslow until summer), I'm getting a raise (not quite as extreme) there as well.

I made $200 on Saturday and $100 last night at the bar (both nights average out to $20/hour).

Whenever anyone asks me why I have three jobs, I say that I like money too much. But it's also because I genuinely enjoy all of my jobs, even on the bad days, and all of my bosses treat my extraordinarily well. I'm so used to being screwed over by employers when I'm such a loyal employee (like giving a fucking year's notice, and then losing out on a raise because I was honest) that I would feel like I'm betraying my current bosses if I quit.

We're still on track to getting out of debt at the end of the WEEK! Eee! And Aaron doesn't have to have that surgery again. I had my little PMS-y breakdowns last week, so I got any lingering doubts (when are we moving out of Santa Barbara? What if I fail all my classes? How will we ever buy a house? Why is Emma throwing up again?) out of my system and can enjoy all the supergoodygood news for a few days (until I get my midterm grades back--yoinks).

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.