Coping Mechanism: Forced Apathy
07 February 2007 at 12:28 pm

Aaron's sick with the flu, but he also needs surgery again for that thing he has surgery for not last year but the year before...it came back. At least this time he has good insurance. More of this waiting...waiting...waiting for things to happen. He had to spend all afternoon trying to get an appointment with a doctor to get a referral for a surgeon -- most of the places he called told him they either weren't accepting new patients, or they wouldn't be able to see him until March. He finally happened to get a kindly nurse on the phone who understood his condition and got him in today. Which was nice. But still. The recovery time for this surgery is ridiculous -- weeks if not months.

Dammit, how is my coffee already cold?

So, here I am, running frantically to the finish line that is graduation when I shoot myself in not just one, but both of my feet. Then I trip over some barbed wire, which severs my legs just below my knees. I start to crawl, but a bear comes along and eats my arms, so now I'm just flopping and rolling around, trying desperately to give a damn about finishing up these last six or so weeks but really just wanted to lay there, dying a slow, painful death.

In other words, I have a midterm tomorrow that I haven't studied for and I have to work all day and all night so...not quite sure what to do about that, except to force apathy.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.