The Sick
07 December 2006 at 3:41 pm

I love the sweet, sweet relief of turning in a paper, especially on the last day of class. I know I'm never going to see it again with comments or a grade on it, so I can immediately forget about it. Mmm. Ignorance. Yummy.

Even though school is over in a week (two more classes! One more paper! One more final!), I still can't get over the amazingness of bringing a laptop to class with me. I can type my notes! I can work on a paper during class! I can be connected to the internet and read blogs when I get bored! It's a miracle! This thing has 5 hours of battery life, as opposed to the 45ish minutes my old 150 pound laptop had, so I don't have to panic over whether it's going to shut down on me mid-notetaking. My astonishment with all of this is completely ridiculous, I know, but it's a new concept for me.

We're completely broke this week, so we took our emergency fund -- a coffee can full of coins -- to CoinStar to get some cash for food (we were down to mac and cheese and toast. It was a dire circumstance, but I am so dedicated to never ever putting anything on the credit card ever again). $20 later, Aaron managed to pull together enough ingredients within our budget to make some penne alfredo with crumbled pancetta and garlic bread. Just 'cause we're poor doesn't mean we can't eat well, you know? Plus, we can make three meals out of one dish with leftovers.

I've been bizarrely sick this week. Sunday, I had an all-over flu (stuffy nose, body aches). Monday, I had a clogged head. Tuesday, I have a horrible cough. Wednesday, I had phlegm dripping out of every part of my head (well, not my ears...that would be v. odd and gross). Today, it's back to a cough, but I'm feeling overall better. I think I've been internalizing all my stress and it's manifesting itself in the form of a flu...or maybe I just have The Sick.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.