Democracy Fails Again
29 October 2006 at 11:33 pm

There was an initiative put on a ballot at my school to increase tuition: "The funding, which comes to about $400 per year with the 25 percent return-to-aid surcharge, distributes the funds among 29 student services organizations on campus, including Campus Learning Assistance Services, Recreational Sports and A.S."

24% of the student body voted and the measure passed by 30 votes. So now my parents are paying an extra $133 a quarter for services I don't use -- nay, can't use, because I'm working two jobs to pay for the things like, you know, food so that I can graduate debt-free.

If I needed tutoring? I would pay for a tutor. If I wanted to join a club? I would pay a fee to be a part of that club. If I don't like the college lifestyle and avoid the college community as a whole because it's just not my thing? Then I don't want to pay more than I have to for a fucking degree, but now I have don't have a choice in the matter.

Goddammit. I'm pissed off that I have to be pissed off about this.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.