What I Learned In College: How to Bullshit
22 August 2006 at 6:37 pm

Since Aaron got his raise and promotion at work, it's feasable that we'll be paying our credit cards off before the end of the year. However, with the whole bankruptcy bullshit, I need to zero out the credit card that he's a signer on so that his medical debt won't affect my awesome credit history, so I called a credit card I had opened for a emergencies and have since disposed of to see about a balance transfer fee. However, this credit card is with MBNA, which Bank of America just bought (BofA also bought Fleet, which is what ... ok this is getting too boring and complicated to get into). The point is, I couldn't do a direct balance transfer since the card I wanted to transfer from and to are now with the same company, but they could transfer the money to my checking account, at which point I will pay off the other card with that money and have a 1% interest rate instead of a 12% interest rate. So I'm happy about this little jab at the fucking credit card companies.

I've had food poisoning the last few days and so have been unable to eat anything without dire consequences. This is great news for my belly, especially since I've been working out again. What is it about being able to control one's weight that makes it possible to control the rest of one's life?

Midterm on Irish poetry on Thursday, and the rest of the weekend is dedicated to a paper due the following Friday. As much as I complain about it, I really prefer these summer session classes. They go by more quickly, and since I'm only taking two (in addition to working my two jobs), I can actually focus on the material instead of just doing the bare minimum to pass and not actually absorbing any potentially useful information. I think for the first time since I've been back at school, I've actually done all the reading for these classes. Don't ask me how I got away with reading maybe 40-60% of what I was supposed to in my other English classes and still got As and Bs because my method is top-secret and involves quite a bit of bullshitting. Then again, doesn't everything?

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.