Rant: When My House Turns Into A Hostel
25 July 2006 at 5:04 pm

The soon-to-be-ex roommates have had a band visiting these past few days. They showed up on Friday, when I was in LA, and have been playing shows in the area and have been using our house as headquarters. They've been sleeping in the boy roommmate's band's practice space and so haven't really been in the house all that often, but it just so happens that whenever I am home, they are home. Now, our house isn't very big; it's the size of an apartment, so having 4 people and a dog live here is a bit cramped, but 9 people trying to situated themselves is a recipe for claustrophobia. And insanity.

Ok, so in the break I took after writing that, I burned my thumb from steaming broccoli and Aaron called to say that his promotion is 90% a done deal so I am now slightly tipsy off a half a glass fo wine, farty from broccoli, finding it incredibly difficult to type while my thumb is on fire, and cautiously thrilled about the possibility of mo' money. Also, the band just came back.

So, the thing is, I used to be really easygoing and I'm not anymore. I used to be cool with waking up to random people in my house, with feeding hoardes of strangers my food, with hooking people I don't know up with a bottle of wine, and I'm just not anymore. Call me a bitch, call me cheap, call me whatever you'd like because it's all true and it's not going to change. I like things the way I like them and I need an adjustment period if things are going to change. So the first day all these people were here, I had just gotten back from LA and had a shitton of reading to do, so I just dived into my room and didn't emerge for eight hours. Yesterday, I come home from school, and everyone's there. I come home from work, and everyone's there. I come home from my other work, and everyone's there. And there's no hot water because now our water heater has to support 8 people. And Aaron and I had no advance warning that these people would be here in the first place, and when I asked when they were leaving, the boy roommate said something along the lines of, "I don't know."

So, I'm pissed. And I wake up this morning after 6 hours of sleep, sweating and exhausted, and Aaron comes in to tell me that the Emo Parade is here. So I do the only rational thing: I burst into tears and cry for an hour. I know that this was the result of the past 5 weeks of a breakneck schedule, of the ridiculous amount of papers I need to write in the next week, of the 40+ hours a week I'm working outside of school, but really? Really really, I don't need a random group of people forcing me out of my house right now. I need to be able to open my door and not have to squeeze past five people waiting for showers (ON OUR DIME. WATER COST MONEY, PEOPLE. THIS IS NOT NEW NEWS). I need to feel comfortable walking into my living room without 18 eyes staring at me like I don't belong in my house. And I need my soon-to-be-ex-but-not-soon-enough roommates to understand why I might be a tad upset about all this.

But they don't, so I'm depending on you, dland people, to hand over some empathy. Bring it.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.