Diamond Dogs
23 July 2006 at 7:05 pm

Yesterday I was in Hollywood and Pasadena, where the high was 112 degrees. That's how hot it usually is in Redding around this time, so because I grew up with it I didn't think it would be as bad as it was. But there is no humidity in Redding, California, and so while 112 degree temperatures make me want to peel my skin off and place it in a freezer for a few hours, 112 degree temperatures with humidity make me want to go to church because if there is a hell, it probably has the same climate as Pasadena.

We may very well have found a nice new roommate and I knew that if I didn't stress about it, it would just happen, and so it has. I am happy about this.

I spent the day doing an extra credit assignment for my English class by drawing one of the characters from something we've read. I drew Morgan le Fey from Sir Gawain holding a puppeteer cross thingy connected to Gawain (as symbolized by a bestarred shield), the Green Knight (as represented by a green axe), and a King Arthur (as interpreted via a castle). I learned two things: I am not a good drawer, and also, I forgot that when you color with markers, no matter how old or how careful you are, you end up covered in marker markings.

I don't think I ever wrote about my last LA trip, and I don't think I'll ever end up writing about this LA trip, but, aside from the heat, I had a very nice time. Also, like the last visit to LA, I spent pretty much the whole time in some degree of tipsyness but never had a hangover. Strange.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.