Hot flashes
03 June 2006 at 11:17 pm

Oh my God. It is. So hot. At 11pm, it is 85 degrees out.

I ended up at the emergency room last night after an allergic reaction to some preservative somebody put in some frozen shrimp. An hour after I ate them, I started randomly scratching my face. A half an hour later, my entire face was red and bumpy and spreading down my neck. I was at work at the time, so I called Aaron and had him bring me some Benadryl. By the time I left work at 9pm, I had hives from my skull down to my toes and my throat was tightening up, so Aaron ditched the Vespa at a friend's house downtown and drove me to the hospital. I got lucky -- at 10pm on a Friday night, I was the only patient at the hospital. Yay for small towns. They hooked me up with a shot of adrenalin and within a half an hour, the itching had stopped and the redness was dissipating. At that point, I was drowsy from the Benadryl and shakey from the adrenalin and starving from some other pills they gave me, the side effect of which is increased appetite, so we headed to In-n-Out and I quickly passed out on the couch after eating. Aaron had to carry me to bed, apparently, since when I woke up I had no memory of actually getting to the bedroom. I'm fine today, but no more frozen fish for me and no more shellfish for a long time (except for maybe oysters...mmm, oysters).

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.