Drinking Strategies
20 April 2006 at 9:05 pm

My life is totally reflected in my GPA. My first two quarters at UCSB -- which were over, what, three years ago? -- I had a dismal 2.7 and 2.23: I was definitely in a below-average state of mind (I should mention, in my mind, a B is average). Since I've been back, my GPA is a 3.2: my outlook on life is definitely up, but it's not hugely great, just slightly better than ok. but of course, my overall GPA is reflective of those first two quarters, so it's a cumulative 2.7. I never really cared about it until I got it into my head to do a post-college certification program for publishing, and now I'm realizing that I really need above a 3.0 to really be considered. I only have one more class to take that I'm really dreading -- wait, two more classes, English 101 and some Anthro class for my non-Western cultures G.E. -- and I tend to fly by in classes that I enjoy, so it shouldn't be too big of a deal to pull it up over the next four quarters of my college career.

Aaron made an official dinner-dinner tonight, complete with a vegetable and everything, and I am Stuffed. Most of the time he cooks, he'll make a huge batch of something, like bolognese, and we'll eat it for a week straight because we don't have time for anything else. So even though I have a cook for a boyfriend, it's always a treat to have a real dinner.

The roommates and Aaron and I are going out for the first time tonight to the neighborhood bar that features a ceramic poodle collection as well as a tiki bar smoking area, so it should be a decent time. I don't think I mention how we went last week and befriended the DJs, who were friends with the bartender, who gave us free drinks all night as a result. And thus, we have finally found somewhere similar to the bars we would occasionally frequent (oxymoron alert!) in San Francisco: kitschy, mellow, comfortable, and free.

I would now like to mention that if it weren't for Aaron, who for some reason has the amazing ability to chitchat, this never would have happened. We complement each other like that: I can hold in-depth conversations for as long as you'd like, but Aaron can actually initiate a conversation with a perfect stranger. I don't know how he does it -- to me, it's like math: either you get it or you don't -- but everywhere we go he makes a ridiculous amount of single serving friends.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.