The End of Me
19 March 2006 at 3:21 pm

Just so everyone can join in on the fun of studying for statistics with me, I've made a little graphic to demonstrate one of the equations that just barely makes sense to me:

That is pronounced: The sample estimate plus or minus the margin of error where the margin of error is p hat minus z root p hat one minus p hat over n, p hat plus z root p hat one minus p hat over n.

Other pronunciations include, "My brain is fried," "This will be the death of me," and "Suck it, stats."

It's not so much that I can't handle plugging numbers into equations; it's that, in order for me to actually learn it, I have to understand where that equation came from. In the interest of letting at least half the students pass the class, the professor did not teach us the origins of equations, which means that I just have to memorize this stuff without actually knowing what any of it means. This, folks, is why I'm an English major.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.