Honesty, for a change
13 March 2006 at 4:43 pm

Ok, so this is what happens when you go weeks without a real entry:

The last few dreams I've had have all been strangely similar but vastly different. The first one, I was visiting Joanna in France, but she was living in a co-op or something and she needed to leave so the random person I was with and I needed to figure out what to do while she was gone. Then I was on a street in my hometown trying to catch the bus to go...somewhere... and that's all I remember.

The next dream featured my friend Scott from Seattle, who I originally met in SF when he stayed with the boy and I when Derrick was sleeping on our floor for a month, and I can't remember exactly what happened, but I remember waking up and redeveloping the little crush I had on him. IRL, I just emailed him for the first time in months to tell him I had a dream about him, and he responded in a few hours with information of the girl he's dating.

The last dream was this morning and featured an obsession of mine from several years ago and the only thing I really remember is that he was helping me find something and we were on this old-fashioned wagon and then it fell into the river and we both had to climb out. It wasn't dangerous or scary, it was just a hindrance and I lost all of my prized possessions that were in the boat.

The overriding feeling I got during these dreams was that I was looking for something, but I didn't know what it was but I knew the other person could help me find it. I think this has to do with my codependency on Aaron, who literally has to drag me out of bed these days I'm in such a bad state of mind, and also with the fact that I'm feeling deeply dissatisfied with life right now.

I hate hate hate being in school. It's like being on a treadmill; no matter how fast or how slow I move, no matter how hard or how little I study, I'm still in the same place.

At least Aaron and I have made some friends. It's kind of kismet, actually. Aaron met this guy Jak* at the show our roommate was doing the sound for, and Jak bought him a drink at the Press Room after Aaron had his glasses broken from the stupid scenekid mosh pit. We went over to Jak and his girlfriend's apartment on Friday night and found out that not only is Jak half-Mexican, but he's obsessed with boxing -- exactly like Aaron's best friend in Seattle, Adam. And his girlfriend is kind of like Liz, one of my current better friends whom I met through Adam, in that she comes off as a little flighty but is actually really smart (she's studying for her Ph.D. chemical engineering--gross!) and she's also completely obsessed with Marilyn Monroe. It's really bizarre.

Oh, good news: yesterday, Jak brought his truck over and carted our Vespa to his friend's house so that he could fix it. We got a call on Sunday night that we need to buy a carbuerator kit or something and he had to replace the sparkplug with a bigger plug and he's going to lubricate the throttle -- none of this means anything to me, unless it means I can ride the fucking thing without killing myself. My hand still hurts from my crash over a month ago.

Anyway, the guy insisted that we come pick it up on Thursday when he's going to do the majority of the work on it so that he can show us how to fix the little things, which is nice of him. Still no word on what he's going to be charging us, if anything, for labor, but so far the cost of parts is only $26.50. This is, of course, $26.50 more than we have at the moment, but I have an interview next week for the new Levi's store that's opening soon. UGH, I've been reduced to retail again.

Ok, so, also really strange is that we met this guy who is fixing our Vespa, whom I will call Mike*, at the Press Room because he decided to share a table with us and it turned out that Jak was actually planning to introduce us to Mike because he knew he could fix our Vespa. It's just weird how these things happen. All the people we've met seem friendly and interesting, so hopefully we can keep ourselves distracted for the next year because Santa Barbara is driving both Aaron and I crazy with it's severe lack of things to do besides, like, hike and drink.

Even the thought of making new friends is exhausting to me though. The whole process of, "Hey, what's your life story?" "Well, I grew up in blah blah blah, how about you?" "Blurble blurgh blurgh, hey, do we have anything left in common?" "Not really, ok, bye." -- I just don't have the energy for it when I can just as easily call or email Sam or Joanna or Michelle and get my dose of friendship for the month. Not that I do call or email them, because the only thing that changes in my life is my class schedule, but I could. Who am I kidding, I'm ridiculously lonely and getting sick of depending on Aaron for a social life.

*Not his real name

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.