Procrastination Station
12 February 2006 at 4:09 pm

I am doing absolutely everything in my power to avoid writing this paper. I've even contemplated -- horror of horrors! -- doing the roommates' dishes for them. I hate paper prompts that give very specific questions that could be answered in two sentences and then ask me to draw it out into four to five pages of bullshit. This is not training for the real world; in any job, your boss is never going to ask you, "You know, I feel like wasting an hour. Could you expand that memo to ten pages and focus on the meaning behind the phrases 'staff meeting' and 'proper phone-answering procedure'? While you're at it, use at least three resources to defend your argument that the breakroom should be kept tidy at all times. Thanksabunch!"

We went on a hike on Friday and the only thing I want to say about that is that I am still feeling it today. Also, I was terrified for my life at least twice while attempting to rockclimb while the dog cleared five-foot vertical jumps like a mountain goat.

To celebrate our outdoorsyness, we voided all of the calories that we burned with a trip to Chili's (gross) and a beer or two at the seedy bar in our neighborhood that lets us bring the dog in. This place was like stepping into the year 1985 in a midwestern podunk town, complete with a jukebox emanating the sort of songs that might be featured on the late-nite-commercial-friendly "Monster Ballads" CD. Fun [where fun=creepy]!

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.