Mmm, cheese
13 January 2006 at 7:37 pm

Mm. Nothing like goat cheese right out of the plastic.

I'm in complete denial about being unemployed. This is the first time in years that I've been voluntarily unemployed. Usually, I would have another job lined up or I'd be moving to another city. But no. I quit my job. I have no prospects. And for some reason I just can't shake the belief that my bank account will remain the same for as long as I don't have a job.

Save for the money I've been spending on parking at school ($4 for 2 hours! Cheap compared to San Francisco, where it's $10 for a half an hour, but still! I'm trying to get smart here, people) and essential groceries (salad fixins, Trader Joe's Tempura Veggies, CPK frozen pizzas, and beer...mmm, beer), my bank account really hasn't been decreasing that much. That may have to do with the money we loaded up on over Christmas (thanks, Mom, Dad, Aaron's mom, and Grandma!), but I know as well as anyone that $1000 just doesn't last as long as it should.

The roommates and I bonded tonight over how bored we all are and we vowed to start doing things together that do not involve the television. Ideas included exploring the hiking trails in the area, which the ridiculous 65 degree weather and pure blue skies make a viable option. I also offered to take them with us to San Francisco the next time Aaron and I head up there, as they have never been. Anyone have any other ideas for decent bonding activities in SoCal that do not involve alcohol (neither roommate drinks)?

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.