Hiccup
09 January 2006 at 7:35 pm

You know what else happened today? It was my third-to-last first day of school (hopefully). Here is what I am taking:

English Class Numero Uno: American Lit 1789-1900. At some point during the quarter, we will read Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, Walden, The Blithedale Romance, Uncle Tom's Cabin, Pudd'nhead Wilson, The Awakening, and The Europeans.

English Class Numero Dos: British and American Lit 1650-1780. We will be reading The Rover and The Castle of Otranto in addition to a number of selections from an anthology and a reader.

Statistics: my teacher is Romanian and unintentially hilarious and has no idea what's going on. I flipped through the book a minute ago and it looked like Greek to me. I already switched my grading option from a letter grade to pass/no pass, which means that even if I get a D in the class I'll still pass it without the grade affecting my GPA.

I'll be taking another English class, hopefully, if I can overenroll in it tomorrow night.

That remind me, one of my English classes is located in an Engineering building and I was ten minutes late to the class because I couldn't find the building. I really wanted somebody to call me out on it because I would have said, "The majority of people in here are English majors or want to be. How in the hell would any of us know where the Engineering building is?" Honestly.

I have the hiccups.

Hasan and I went downtown today to pick up my final paycheck (though they still owe me $12 and change for my tips from last Thursday) and to wander. Wander we did and the dog enjoyed the walk. We sat down to a burger and a glass of wine at a random State St restaurant and had a nice chat. Hasan is kind of like my brother; while he talks to me, I talk at him. It's ok because I'm used to it and it's nice to dissolve into somebody's else's life for awhile. Not that I have that much to say about myself anyway, but I'm sure I could come up with something if somebody asked.

Esp finally responded to my, like, seven phone calls and myspace messages over the past month. She asked what happened to this weekend; I repeated the question to her. "I myspaced you saying that I would come to dinner!" she insisted. "I didn't get the message!" I proclaimed. Fuck you, myspace! Either way, I got to tell her one-half of the things that I wanted to: that our good friend from high school is FINALLY gay. "Duh," she exclaimed. "Duh your duh, but at least he's into it now!" I responded. See, this is the guy who we Always knew was gay but, being from Redding, could never Actually come out and say it so I was very proud of him for getting the hell out of dodge and being ok with who he is. I couldn't remember the other half of what I wanted to tell her, so I said I would call her back when I did.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.