Happy Christmas
25 December 2005 at 4:29 pm

Merry Christmas!

Ok, now that that's out of the way. I'm quitting my job tomorrow and here is why:

  • I can't afford to work there anymore
  • I've worked Thanksgiving, the night of the company Christmas party, Christmas Eve day, Christmas day, and will work New Years Eve day and New Years Day. This seems slightly unfair. I didn't request the days off because I knew I'd make money if I was given the night shifts, but I worked all day shifts and thus made not nearly enough money to make it worth it.
  • Some of the people working these money-making holiday shifts have worked there for far less time than I.
  • I have not been given any indication that I'm doing anything less than a stellar job, and I've asked, which makes me wonder why they're giving me shitty shifts without even pondering if I'm going to be pissed about it.
  • This makes me think that they're taking advantage of me and I know that there's that whole thing that only you can let yourself be taken advantage of, but fuck that for right now.
  • The accounting department messes up everybody's paycheck, every time.
  • Thus, I don't get my hourly wages on time and rarely do I get my tips on time.
  • And all of that's far too much bullshit for me to deal with right at this exact moment in my life.

    I take small pleasure in the fact that they fired their main morning shift person and are now losing their new main morning shift person and will thus be screwed come January 5th.

    Ok, and now back to the happy stuff:

    We opened a few of the xmas gifts last night. I blew my gift-giving load on Aaron's xbox 360 for our anniversary so he got socks ($50 for 4 pairs of socks! Good lord) and Cranium, the turbo addition. I got a Paul Frank wallet (pink! with a skull!) with a matching iPod holder (black! with a skull!), a pink hoodie with a bizarro yet awesome screenprint of a boston terrier's skeleton and bats (why???), a grey hoodie from Aaron's mom (comfy), and some Family Guy ornaments. We'll open the rest of the presents tonight when I am good and drunk and that will be that.

    0 comments

    mod l post-mod

    |

  • New
    Old
    Profile
    Notes
    Extras
    Contact
    Image
    Host
    Trackback

    About me
    Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.