"I consider myself to be a pretty good judge of people -- that's why I don't like any of them."
04 December 2005 at 11:47 pm

While I will not admit that the not working out with the living with the old roommates was entirely mine and Aaron's fault (it was a community effort), I will confess that the way it ended was entirely my fault. I didn't have to handle things the way I did and I couldn't have foreseen the reaction everyone would have. When one of them asked Sanam what I was like, she said (as she told me), "She'll get pissed about certain things, write about it in her journal, and get over it." And that's exactly what I did. I'm not trying to excuse it, I'm just trying to explain that Sanam knew me really well so that's why it's heartbreaking that we're not friends anymore since I couldn't be friends with her friends. Or something, I don't know, she never clarified why we couldn't be friends anymore and I have the impression that she doesn't care to talk about it.

Anyway, it was inevitable that the old roommates would move out, be it because we "pushed" them out or because they graduated and were moving on with their lives, but it did work out 100% for the best. They apparently got a kickass place and we got new kickass roommates. Seriously, we're all sitting here in the living room (that we all rearranged together, since that was the catalyst for us not getting along with the old roommates--yeah, I know) watching Nick@Nite, making dinner together, doing each other's dishes, actually hanging out and talking about things and enjoying each other's company. The girl roommate and I made cookies last night. Aaron stays up late playing video games with the guy roommate. It's just a much better fit and nobody's walking on eggshells.

Good night at the restaurant. I had one table who, after saying that both guests had been servers for many years, told me that I was the best server they'd ever had. That was nice to hear. I don't doubt my abilities as a server, but it's so easy for people who haven't worked in the industry to overlook the little details that servers contribute. I mean, if you have a good server, you shouldn't notice that all of your needs are being met before you ever think about needing them, but exactly. Also, it sounds ridiculous, but that extra dollar you're thinking about adding but ultimately decide to keep in your wallet? Makes All the difference in the world to the server. Bear in mind, the server isn't walking home with every dollar you give her; I have to tip out up to four people (expo, busser, bartender, hostess), giving up between 15 and 25 per cent of my tips every night. So be kind to your server. She isn't doing it because she loves catering to your every whim and desire. She's doing it because, on a good night, she can make up to $40 an hour, and even on an average night, she's making $15 an hour.

Ok, the soapbox is safely tucked away in the closet with the airbed and the coats that desperately need drycleaning because, hot damn, it's getting cold here. 40 degrees! I'm such a Californian.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.