Long entry, short description
21 November 2005 at 4:18 pm

The issue here is, there are people who read this who might not want to. But I'm going to write it anyway.

So, I woke up this morning and asked Aaron if there was any coffee. I have gotten to the point where, if I don't have to work or have school, I will only move for coffee. He said there was but that the sugar shaker was missing. We bought one of those diner sugar shakers when we first moved here and the ex-roommates had claimed it as their own and taken it. It's one thing if, like, you took a pot and ok, we'll pick it up later. It's another thing if you've just woken up and need a fucking cup of coffee and have to drink it sans sugar. I freaked out, screamed, slammed cabinet doors, made every living thing in the house know that I was Upset.

I don't think I've talked at all on here about what a disaster living with the ex-roommates was. Disclaimer: this rant is 100% biased. Also, at the risk of sounding hypocritical, know this: I will not respond to passive-aggression. They were initially upset when we moved in when Aaron rearranged the living room. Fine, we said. How would you like us to rearrange it? Maybe this way, maybe this way, oh, it's fine the way it is. We'll figure it out later, they said. If you have a problem? Clarify your issue. Have a solution or be open to discussing ways to resolve it. Don't let it stew inside of you, make the people you have an issue with think everything's ok, and then be surprised when I'm surprised there's still a problem. Three months later, after they had told us they were moving out, one of the girls sat me down and told me what a horrible person my boyfriend was and how horrible he was from the moment we moved in and how she doesn't think we should be together. This girl and I are not friends by any means. Under no circumstances would I, prior to moving in, while I was living with her, or now that she's moved out consider her a friend. What is a friend to me, then? A friend is someone who will tell me how she is feeling knowing that I care enough about her to want her honest opinion. A friend is not someone who will tell me that my boyfriend isn't good enough with me when this is the first time she's ever asked me about my relationship. I was put in a position to defend all of my life choices by someone who really doesn't have a right to do that.

I've put off updating at all because I didn't want to have to write about this, but I really need to put this out there to the universe as a whole just as, like, "Here is my problem and here is my way of dealing with it; internet, you are my sounding board."

So I told the roommate that they took our sugar shaker, she said she was pretty sure when she packed it that it was hers (when we bought it within a week of us living here and showed it off, like, look at our cool sugar shaker!), and clarified that I wanted to come by and see if they had taken anything else. Then she passive-aggressived away while I told her there was one more thing: the new roommates don't want to write her a deposit check until they're all moved out so they can see if there's anything to be fixed. She said, "Ok, I don't think there is anything, but fine." Here is what needs to be done: a severe steam-cleaning ($20 plus labor). Removal of the rusted and moldy futon ($20ish). Removal of the crap stored in the shed ($??). And possibly a scrubbing of the fridge and their bathroom (cleaning supplies plus labor). This is all stuff that's going to fall on the new roommates and Aaron and I and there's no fucking way, after everything that's happened during this process, that we will be paying for all of it.

Anyway.

My dad's here to visit and we're having a nice time, eating nice food, and he and his roommate (?) Karen took me grocery shopping and bought me a nice new pair of pants, which was nice. I have to write a 5 page paper comparing the first major soliquies in Hamlet and Othello which I've barely thought about by 11am tomorrow, which is not nice but these things seem to magically get done so it's fine. Aaron and I had a huge fight on Wednesday about his immaturity (the same fight we've had since we first got together) and things have been a lot better since then, mostly because when I fight (usually), I just want to scream and yell and get over it and so that's what I did. That's not necessarily fair to the people around me, but it's one of the caveats of being my friend.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.