Bird by Bird x2
22 October 2005 at 8:19 pm

Here is what I did today:

  • Noon: woke up, had a cup of coffee
  • Took a shower
  • Organized my school-related items
  • Had another cup of coffee
  • Made cheese and apple sandwich
  • Made study sheet table for 43 IDs that I'm going to be tested on on Thursday
  • Poked around on the internet
  • Did half the IDs (that is, filled in pertinent information: who, what, where, when, why)
  • Talked to my mom for an hour
  • 5pm: Made dinner
  • Watched a DVR'd episode of Home Movies
  • Did a few more IDs
  • Called my brother (was not home)
  • Called my dad (was not home)
  • Talked to Sam
  • TWoPed
  • Did a few more IDs
  • Poked around on the internet
  • Did a few more IDs
  • Played with the dog
  • 8:15pm: Finally finished all 43 IDs

    Here is what else I was supposed to do today:

  • Read 160 pages for Classics and summarize each chapter (because this is, after all, middle school)
  • Write outlines for four essay prompts for History which I will also be tested on on Thursday
  • Outline and/or write essay on a particular character from either "A Midsummer Night's Dream" or "The Merchant of Venice" (did not actually read either of these in their entirety)
  • Study new menu for tasting at work on Monday

    None of these things is too overwhelming on its own, but together? I'm estimating it will take about a day with nothing else going on for me to complete an individual item and to do it well. Yesterday was a day when there was nothing going on, and what did I do? Nothing. Well, that's not entirely true as I spent three hours traveling between the DMV and the police department trying to get my car registered in spite of an overdue parking ticket that I shouldn't have to pay (especially since it's $300). Ultimately, I accomplished nothing as the one person I can talk to to get everything worked out was off that day. I mean, honestly; shouldn't public officials be on call 24 hours a day for people like me, i.e., the public? If I want to register my car at 3am, I really ought to be able to. Anyway, today I have hardly made up for the shenanigans of yesterday. I'm not exactly disappointed with myself (because I'm perfectly aware that I'm setting myself up for failure) as much as I wish that deadlines didn't exist.

    0 comments

    mod l post-mod

    |

  • New
    Old
    Profile
    Notes
    Extras
    Contact
    Image
    Host
    Trackback

    About me
    Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.