Science friction
08 July 2005 at 12:05 am

So, there's this guy at Aaron's and my work.

And I'm proud of this, so that's why I'm bringing it up.

He's an asswipe. A complete and total jerkwad. Apparently, his mom died a few years ago and that's why he has absolutely no anger management skillz, and you know? That sucks, man, but everybody has problems, and what you do? Is get some therapy and leave your fucking shit at the door.

Tonight was my worst night of serving since I've been a waitress (which has been, like, a month, and it could have been a lot worse, and it wasn't the night, it was all me). I've been working for something like 18 billion years straight, no days off, zero downtime, so I'm tired, I'm burnt out, and the only thing I can focus on is what I have to do tomorrow, not what I need to do right now. So I'm lagging with the running of the food and I can hear him bitching about it to everyone but me. The restaurant business is one where, if you have a problem with what somebody is doing, you tell them right then. Your complaints aren't valid in 10 minutes; if you need me to do something right now, you tell me to do it right now. If you complain about it above and beyond that, you're just a little bitch.

So I know he's bitching about it and I come back to tell him that I'm not going to run the entrees quite yet, that the table knows their entrees are ready and they want to wait on it, and he, notably holding back his frustrations, starts in on his schpeel about how, "So, when YOU enter all the food in and blah blah fire it all at once and yadda yadda this and that" and I give him this look -- oh, I wish I had a copy of the tape that caught my Look -- so he asks, "What, was this Jen's table?" And I said, "No. No, this is my table. This is all my fault. Go on, keep bitching." And I do the "bring it on" hand motion, and he just looks at me and walks away.

HOLY SHIT, I shut the douchebag up. I'm pretty sure this was a historical moment.

Anyway, so I end the night with a tear-filled phone call to Aaron and the dishes are done and the rugs are vacuumed and tomorrow, despite my severe period-induced bloat, I'm going to have bacon and eggs and hashbrowns. Woooo!

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.