An Email to Scott
17 June 2005 at 3:26 pm

Scothalamuel-

Save for chocolate croissants, I've never been much of a pastry person. Too many calories, not enough fulfillment. Then Aaron introduced me to a ricotta cheese danish and we (the danish and I) immediately got in the car and took off for Vegas to be married. We lost a couple thousand at a blackjack table, won back a few hundred on the slots, and now we're back to reality and fighting over whose turn it is to make dinner. The honeymoon is officially over.

We (Aaron and I) bought tickets for Seattle and will be there the first week of August. Are you available for drinks or to take us to a show, preferably your show? We'll be in the city proper on Sunday, July 31, bits of Monday, Thursday, Friday, and bits of Saturday.

I saw Modest Mouse at Bumbershoot--was it 2 years ago or 4? I think time speeds up once you turn 20. Everything's a blur. (Actually, the truth is every day is the same so when something memorable happens, which is rare, it seems like it just happened yesterday because I can't recall any other days than those prized few). Anyway, it was an arena show in the middle of the day and I, being short, was offered the shoulders of some guy on which to better view the band. I believe he was the first person to hit on me in Seattle, and possibly the last (those were my fat days, but I think he was too drunk to care). Anyway, I'm glad you enjoyed the band because they do know how to put on a good show, though I might have preferred a more intimate setting. I saw Death Cab for Cutie and the Dismemberment Plan at The Glass House in Pomona, CA, with approximately 50 other people and was in the front row nodding along with a friend that I'd made waiting in line to get in to the venue. The next time I saw Death Cab was at the same Bumbershoot show as Modest Mouse at Key Arena with approximately 4000 other people and I was in the top row of bleachers hating everyone for liking my band. It's like when I saw the Libertines (still my favorite band of all time) at the Crocodile Cafe with maybe 30 people total and then caught them more recently, a few months before they broke up, at the Fillmore with 2000 people. I don't really have a point here, except that I used to have a social life and now I do not.

The Truth about Seattle: people don't want the town to be overrun by idiots seeking culture so they spread a shitload of rumors about how miserable the weather is (ref. the movie Sleepless in Seattle, where Frasier's brother That Guy says, "It rains nine months of the year in Seattle." He was paid $18,000 to say that line by the City Council of Seattle who, at that point, had forgotten the value of tourism income.) It does not seem to rain any more in Seattle than anywhere else; indeed, it's been raining all week in San Francisco and has yet to break 70 degrees. People from the midwest come here expecting the golden sun of California to wash over them and instead are being sold sweatshirts for $50 at Fisherman's Wharf because tourists are idiots and don't think to check the weather before packing for a trip out west. I moved to Seattle to be sad with all the other SAD-sufferers and was sorely disappointed (I wrote that entire paragraph just to build up to that line).

Aaron and I got in a huge fight today (after the danish left for work--he doesn't mind being cuckolded) regarding his lack of maturity. It started with me refusing to get out of bed, climaxed as I started sobbing while begging him to fucking grow up, and finished after he managed to make me giggle mid-crying fit. Do I love him because he makes serious things fun or are serious things fun because I love him? I don't know, but he did promise to do the dishes more often.

I have so much to say today! I'll save some for the next round of replies.

--Morgan "I just needed a good cry" B_____

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.