...after two large glasses of wine
08 June 2005 at 9:37 pm

I tried to have a blah day, but it wouldn't let me.

At the risk of being vague (but I'm sick of describing it): the McSweeney's meeting was relocated, a change that was decided through email, and I did not have access to a computer until after I waited for 20 minutes in the rain, caught the wrong bus home and ended up in the depths of Potrero Hill hell, took an hour to get the right bus home, walked the dog to Aaron's restaurant, ate brownie nibbles and kicked a ball around for the dog until Aaron was off work, shopped for risotto and bananas, walked home in the mist that gets you soaking wet before you even realize it's raining, sat down at the computer after putting the boxed risotto on the stove with 2 and a half cups of water and half a tablespoon of oil, checked my gmail and saw the email that said the meeting would be in Berkeley.

I wrote back to apologize for missing it (and secretly inserted a "fuck you") and declared the day a bust after the box risotto came up crunchy. I dumped it down the drain around the dirty dishes, poured myself a second glass of wine, lit my 18th cigarette of the day, and pulled a blanket over Aaron who had been lulled to sleep by the History Channel.

The dog is curled up on my pillow, Modern Marvels is telling me how the longest bridge in the world was made, and everything's fine.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.