Pirate Love
11 May 2005 at 4:35 pm

As it turns out and so I've been told, you can't put your arms around a memory.

"Your words are cancer in my mouth," lyrics from a band from which I am hereby distancing myself, makes no sense for the following reason: by using the term "your words" the writer has insisted that the words are not her own. Therefore, the words must have come from someone else, which she would have experienced either through the ears (hearing spoken words) or the eyes (reading written words, the most likely candidate as she refers to "little scraps of paper" at the beginning of the song) which would result in some form of ear or eye cancer. Another option is that the writer is suggesting that she is repeating someone else's words through her own mouth, but she would need to clarify this. For the most part, it seems as though the writer is experiencing memories of a relationship turned sour, as opposed to embarking on a new relationship which would allow for her to repeat the words that she had previously read. Also, SOOOOOOO emo.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.