Only love can complicate
06 May 2005 at 10:14 am

Last night Aaron was abuzz with the news of his new hire, a former employee of the Social Club who moved on quickly after Aaron began work (not because of Aaron, because of Aaron's boss). Aaron will be upgraded to the official title of Executive Chef (for which he was doing all the work in addition to working in the kitchen 30 hours a week) and Peter will serve as his Chef de Cuisine. He was thrilled to tell me about everyone who's quitting or getting fired, everything he's going to be doing for the next few months, how the stress of his work is decreasing rapidly, how great work is right now, how much his boss adores him. So I couldn't help but ask if he doesn't want to quit and move with me to Santa Barbara. So he said he'd talk to his boss and see if he could make it worth his while to put quitting off until the end of the year, which would mean three months of not living together and possibly more.

Not sure quite how I feel about this yet.

Aaron's whole deal is, he goes where I go. I mean, that's what he says to me, not something I asked for. It's not a healthy way to have a relationship when two people have different opportunities elsewhere.

But, trust issues. We've lived together since we met and the most time we've spent apart is, what, a week? Two weeks?

And, we only really see each other on the weekends anyway.

And, it'd be good, I mean, to test the relationship, maybe, to see what life is like living by myself for a few months and I'll be so busy with work and school and internships and focusing on not being melancholy that I really won't have time to think about crawling into a bed devoid of dog and boyfriend.

But, all my friends are leaving. Literally, everyone has graduated and the only people I will know in the city are my brother's old roommates. I'd be starting over, completely, without any help or a support system for the first time.

But, I don't know if I want to test if we're strong enough to do this. I want to assume that we are and have that be ok.

And, this is a really ridiculously great opportunity for Aaron.

And, a clean slate! Three or more months to just do whatever I want to do, not have to rush home to be with the dog, not have to suffer through guilt trips for leaving the dog home alone while I go out with Samantha.

But, no one to take my bad day out on, no one who would put up with me yelling and screaming at him for no apparent reason, no one to tuck me into bed, no one to kiss on the forehead every morning on my way out the door.

But, I'd have to do my own laundry.

And, my mom would be thrilled.

But, loneliness.

And, self-sufficiency.

On a completely unrelated note, I feel like there are bugs crawling all over me.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.