Can't anybody find me?
29 April 2005 at 7:01 pm

Last night, Aaron and I were deciding what to have for dinner at 10 pm. I had just taken a physics midterm and found out that I would not be getting a raise at my job. He had to go into work even though he was sick.

"Aaron, today is a bad day. What do we do on bad days?"

He was five again, with that smile on his face and the reason for it: "Pizza!"

He drank a Bass and I poured a half-glass of the cheap chardonnay that tastes good to me. We smoked a cigarette and when the pizza came, put in Ocean's Twelve and eventually went to sleep.

Today, I battled with the thought of staying at this job when I'm not being treated fairly or with respect (I guess that's redundant). I worked hard despite, numbing my brain as the seconds ticked by, and then was scolded for going to lunch too late even though the person who scolded me goes to lunch at that time all the time. I came back after a half an hour, skipped beer thirty (4:30 on Fridays, when everyone in the office starts drinking) to work. Then I found out I didn't get into Berkeley and called Aaron.

I wasn't disappointed until he was.

I started looking for new jobs -- the Gap is hiring, even though I swore I wouldn't work retail ever again. It's the principle of it -- of not being rewarded for accomplishments beyond the scope of my duties, of working a job that I'm overqualified for, of being able to do very little about it.

The good news is, I come home and the dog is shitting himself over my arrival (figuratively). The good news is, my cell phone bill is reasonable for this month. The good news is, I know where I'm going to be living in four months. The good news is, the end is in sight.

The good news is, I have leftover pizza and just enough wine for a full glass.

newhair

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.